Live Chat
+91 90999 19519
Indian Institute of Technology
Current IIT's

Name Short Name Established City/Town
IIT Kharagpur IITKGP 1951 Kharagpur
IIT Bombay IITB 1958 Mumbai
IIT Madras IITM 1959 Chennai
IIT Kanpur IITK 1959 Kanpur
IIT Delhi IITD 1961 (1963‡) New Delhi
IIT Guwahati IITG 1994 Guwahati
IIT Roorkee IITR 1847 (2001‡) Roorkee

New IIT's
Name Short Name Established City/Town
IIT Ropar IITRPR 2008 Rupnagar
IIT Bhubaneswar IITBBS 2008 Bhubaneswar
IIT Hyderabad IITH 2008 Hyderabad
IIT Gandhinagar IITGN 2008 Gandhinagar
IIT Patna IITP 2008 Patna
IIT Rajasthan IITJ 2008 Jodhpur
IIT Mandi IIT Mandi 2009 Mandi
IIT Indore IITI 2009 Indore
IIT (BHU) IITBHU 1916 (2011‡) Varanasi

Future IIT's
A recommendation to award IIT status to the Indian School of Mines was made by the Government of Jharkhand in September 2011.Another planned IIT is at Palakkad in the state of Kerala, as was announced in September 2011 by P. K. Abdu Rabb, the Minister for Education of the Government of Kerala. However, as establishing an IIT is done by an act of parliament, the local government role is limited, and this still requires several steps by the central government. Another IIT was proposed in 2009 at Muddenahalli, Karnataka. In January 2011 a proposal was made to establish the Karnataka IIT by upgrading University Visvesvaraya College of Engineering to IIT status.